AWARDS IN SOIL MICROMORPHOLOGY

KUBIENA MEDAL

Definition

The Kubiena Medal award is conferred by the IUSS Soil Morphology and Micromorphology Commission (originally Subcommission B - ISSS) to commemorate Walter L Kubiëna for his distinguished contribution to soil micromorphology. This IUSS medal is awarded for outstanding and sustained contribution in the discipline of soil micromorphology.

Walter Ludwig Kubiëna (born 1897 in Neutitschein, Moravia, † 1970 in Klagenfurt) was an Austrian soil scientist. He is considered to be the founder of micromorphological soil research, which began with the publication, in 1938, of his book "Micropedology". His works opened up a new dimension to soil science and had a lasting influence on international research in the areas of soil genesis, soil classification and soil geography.

Criteria for selection of nominees

The awardees must demonstrate an outstanding and sustained performance in the discipline of soil micromorphology. All areas of micromorphology including research, teaching and its application to environmental, agricultural, archaeological and industrial problems are considered relevant.

Periodicity of nomination: The Kubiëna Medal is currently awarded every four years and presented at the World Congress of Soil Science of the IUSS.

Nomination procedure

<u>The call for the nominations is publicized</u>, during the year before the date of the award, via the Commission Newsletter, Commission Business Meetings and/or IUSS Alerts. Considering that the next WCSS date will be August 2022, it was decided to announce now (*the year before the date of the award*) the next Kubiena award 2022 call.

The nominees may be proposed by institutions, societies, commissions and working groups of the IUSS, and individuals. Members of the Award committee are not eligible to make nominations or second nominations.

The proposal for nomination must be submitted to the Award committee chair, and should include:

- 1. Statement of key achievements and career highlights of the nominee (1 page)
- 2. Curriculum vitae detailing career history and publication record of the nominee
- 3. Name of proposer and seconder for the nominee
- 4. Any other relevant information in support of the nominee
- 5. Full address and contact details of the nominee

Award Committee Members

<u>The selection committee for the Kubiëna</u> Medal award is composed of the previous Kubiëna medal holders plus the Chair and past Chair of IUSS Commission 1.1. Soil Morphology and Micromorphology.

Awardees

1	Ekaterina Yarilova & Roy Brewer	1985	7th IWMSM Paris (France)
2	H. Jürgen Altemüller	1988	8th IWMSM Texas
3	Georges Stoops	1992	9th IWMSM Townsville
			(Australia)
4	Ewart Adsil FitzPatrick	1998	16 th ISSS Congress Montpellier
5	Larry Wilding	2001	11 th IWMSM Ghent (Belgium)
6	Herman Mucher & A, Jongerius	2006	18th WCSS Philadelphia (USA)
7	Nicolas Fedoroff	2010	19th WCSS Brisbane (Australia)
8	Rienk Miedema	2014	20th WCSS Jeju (Korea)
9	Maria Gerasimova	2018	21th WCSS Rio de Janeiro
			(Brazil)
10	Paul Goldberg and Richard Macphail	2022	22th WCSS Glasgow (UK)

How to apply

The nominees may be proposed by institutions, societies, commissions and working groups of the IUSS, and individuals. Members of the Award committee are not eligible to make nominations or second nominations.

The proposal for nomination must be submitted to the Award committee chair, and should include:

- 1. Statement of key achievements and career highlights of the nominee (1 page)
- 2. Curriculum vitae detailing career history and publication record of the nominee
- 3. Name of proposer and seconder for the nominee
- 4. Any other relevant information in support of the nominee
- 5. Full address and contact details of the nominee

Applications. Send by email applications to: prof. Fabio Terribile <u>fabio.terribile@unina.it</u>